Juurakko offers a delightful combination of Finnish and Afro-American roots music with vivid storytelling and rakish skiffle spirit. Highly skilled a cappella blues singing is combined with many exotic instruments like the kantele, the harmonium, the bowed lyre, the cigar box guitar, a coffee mug and a suitcase. On their new album Juurakko has taken one step further into the world of roots and blues, introducing venturesome sounds and odd stories. The music of “Oi, Maalina” invites you to a waltz with an old sailor, takes you to an island of unwanted people and brings earthy echoes from the Deep South. “Oi, Maalina” (2017) is the second studio album by Juurakko. Their debut album “Lauluja kuistilta – Songs From The Porch” (2014) was nominated for the Finnish Emma awards (“Grammys”).

LAURA KAARTINEN – vocals, harmonium, percussion
KAISA SAARIKORPI – vocals, cigar box instruments, guitar, percussion
MINSKU TAMMELA – vocals, bowed lyre, comb, Jew’s harp, percussion
ANNA WIKSTEN – vocals, plankku (2-string bass), percussion